Why Gorakhpur Spurned Adityanath And The Influence Of His Temple

Behen Mayawati is back in the game.

The BSP chief’s stunning last-minute decision to support bitter political rival Samajwadi Party (SP) in the Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-elections to the Lok Sabha has paid rich dividends. The BJP lost both high-profile seats which had been won by 3 lakh plus margins in 2014 by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his deputy, Keshav Prasad Maurya.

While Phulpur has seen loyalties shift – from the Congress to the Samajwadi Party followed by the BSP and the BJP which won this constituency during the 2014 Modi wave – Gorakhpur has remained a saffron bastion, unflinchingly faithful for the last 30 years to the powerful Gorakhnath temple and its head priests Mahant Avaidyanath and his disciple, Yogi Adityanath who between them have won eight successive elections from here.

BSP chief Mayawati’s decision to join hands with Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party has paid off

This time, BJP candidate Upendra Shukla repeatedly asked voters to “destroy…

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here