Seats won by Congress this time a record for any incumbent government in Karnataka

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had a strike rate of 57 percent against Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s 48 percent in the number of assembly segments that they addressed rallies in and won in Karnataka where one of the most closely fought elections in recent times concluded with results on May 15.
In 84 of the state’s 224 constituencies (more than one in every three seats), the victory margin was around 10,000 or less, indicating an election that went literally to the wire. Of North Karnataka’s 90 seats, 44 saw such close contests, followed by 23 in Old Mysuru’s 66 seats, eight in central Karnataka, three in the coast and six in Bengaluru city.

The BJP lost 16 seats by a margin of less than 5,000, the Congress lost eight and the JD(S) lost six. Akhanda Srinivas Murthy of the Congress won with the highest margin of 81,628 from Pulikeshinagar in Bengaluru city while Prathapgouda Patil of the same party won with the lowest margin of 213 from Maski in Raichur district. The…

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here