Rocket-Control Glitch Delays Launch Of NASA's Planet-Hunting Satellite

0
14
Loading...
CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla.:  An 11th-hour technical glitch prompted SpaceX to postpone its planned launch on Monday of a new NASA space telescope designed to detect worlds beyond our solar system, delaying for at least 48 hours a quest to expand astronomers’ known inventory of so-called exoplanets.

The Transit Exoplanet Survey Satellite, or TESS, had been due for lift-off aboard a Falcon 9 rocket from the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 6:32 p.m. EDT (2232 GMT), but Space X halted the countdown a little more than two hours before launch time.

Space Exploration Technologies, as billionaire entrepreneur Elon Musk’s private launch service is formerly known, said on Twitter that the blast-off was scrubbed for the day due to unspecified problems in the rocket’s guidance control system.

The launch was rescheduled for 6:51 p.m. EDT (2251 GMT) on Wednesday.

The two-year, $337 million TESS mission is designed to build on the work of its predecessor, the…

Read More

SHARE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here