India reach Nidahas T20 tri-series final as Rohit Sharma, Washinton Sundar rise to the occasion against Bangladesh


India booked their place in the Nidahas T20 tri-series final by beating Bangladesh by 17 runs in Colombo on Wednesday. Captain Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina and Washington Sundar were the architects of the win that saw the Indian team, defending 176/3, restrict the Tigers to 159/6 for a third win in four matches.  

Bangladesh’s Musfiqur Rahim (72* off 55 balls) kept his team in the hunt but the Indian total proved too big on a terribly low and slow pitch at the R Premadasa Stadium, and they fell fairly short of the target. The Tigers now will have to beat Sri Lanka handsomely on Friday to make another date with their powerful neighbours in the final on Sunday.  

Sundar turned out to be a thorn in Bangladesh’s flesh, and do what they would, they found it difficult to deal with his offspinners and consequently he finished with an impressive 3/22. Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal and Mohammed Siraj, who came in place of Jaydev Unadkat, took a wicket apiece.

Earlier in the day after…

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here