Eight Argentine cities to feature in 2030 World Cup bid

By: Reuters |
Published: April 10, 2018 10:14:44 am

Official World Cup ball bearing the logo of the Russia 2018 World Cup on display during a news conference. (Source: AP)

A joint South American bid to host the 2030 World Cup will feature eight cities in Argentina, two in Paraguay and two in Uruguay, the three nations confirmed on Monday.

“Our country will have eight host cities, but those haven’t been decided yet because that decision will come at a later stage,” president of the Argentina FA, Claudio Tapia, said.

Argentina and Uruguay, who have both won the World Cup twice, decided to launch a joint bid last year and later added Paraguay, who have never won the tournament.

The bid is designed to coincide with the 100th anniversary of the first World Cup, which took place in Uruguay in 1930.

No other bids have been…

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here