Congress releases list of 23 candidates for Nagaland polls

NEW DELHI: More than a week after it jointly decided with other parties against contesting the Nagaland Assembly polls, the Congress on Tuesday released its list of 23 candidates for the election.

The Congress has come out with the list on the penultimate day of filing of nominations for the February 27 polls. Of all its candidates, 22 belong to the schedule tribes (ST) community.

Besides Congress, the other parties which had signed the resolution against contesting the election in their bid for a solution to the protracted Naga insurgency issue, included Naga People’s Front, Nationalist Democratic Peoples’ Party, Nagaland Congress, United Nagaland Democratic Party, Aam Admi Party, National Congress Party, Lok Jan Party, Janata Dal (United) and National People’s Party.

The uncertainty over the election was virtually over after the BJP released its list of candidates on Saturday.

The Congress too had appointed former Arunachal Pradesh Chief…

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here