Celebrations after trust vote, says BS Yeddyurappa

BENGALURU: In 2008, when BS Yeddyurappa took oath as the first BJP chief minister with an “almost” full majority, the streets leading to Vidhana Soudha were jampacked. Central Business District shut down for three hours, and thousands of people stood in the blazing sun to witness the historic political scenario of the BJP forming its first government on its own in south India.

At that year’s swearing-in ceremony, central BJP leaders who watched from a specially constructed podium included Rajnath Singh, LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and Prakash Javadekar.PM Modi, who was then Gujarat CM, Chhattisgarh CM Raman Singh and Madhya Pradesh CM Shivaraj Singh Chauhan were also present.

Ten years later, on Thursday, Yeddyurappa, now 75, had a rather tame swearing-in ceremony in what was a “closeted” affair inside the glass house of Raj Bhavan, where usually only “lone ministers” are sworn in or “cabinet expansions” take place.

With uncertainty looming large, yet…

Read More



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here